Matt Hamilton on Boxing @’s 2011 Awards

World Wide Web Boxing Awards 2011

Fighter of the Year

Winner: Andre Ward

First Runner Up: Miguel Cotto

Second Runner Up: Brandon Rios

Young Fighter of the Year

Winner: Canelo Alvarez

KO of the Year

Winner: Jessie Vargas vs. Walter Estrada

Runner Up: Donaire vs Montiel

Second Runner Up: Lucian Bute vs Jean Paul Mendy

Heavyweight Division: Robert Helenius KO’s Samuel Peter in 9th.

Round of the Year

Big Fight Category: James Kirkland vs Alfredo Angulo, Round 1.

Cult* Fight Category: Akira Yaegashi-Pornsawon Porpramook, Round 8.

Overall Winner: Akira Yaegashi vs. Pornsawon Porpramook, Round 8.

Fight of the Year

Winner: Victor Ortiz vs. Andre Berto

First Runner Up: James Kirkland vs. Alfredo Angulo

(Joint) Second Runner Up: Akira Yaegashi vs. Pornsawon Porpramook

(Joint) Second Runner Up: Pawel Wolak vs. Delvin Rodriguez

Comeback of the Year

James Kirkland vs Alfredo Angulo


Andre Ward Fighter of The Year

Trainers and fighters everywhere are telling EsNewsReporting that Andre Ward – who just won the Super Six is fighter of the year 2011

Canadian Logan Cotton McGuinness (16-0-1, 7 KOs) Named NABA Fighter of the Year

Logan Cotton McGuinness Named

2011 NABA Fighter of the Year


TORONTO (November 25, 2011) – Undefeated Canadian super featherweight Logan Cotton McGuinness has been named the North American Boxing Association (“NABA”) 2011 Fighter of the Year.


“It’s a great honor for me to be chosen by the NABA as its Fighter of the Year,” McGuinness said. “I defended the NABA lightweight title twice since winning it in September (2010) and won the NABA super featherweight title as well. Hopefully, I’ll defend that belt once or twice and then reach the ultimate goal of fighting for the world title.”

Logan Cotton McGuinness (16-0-1, 7 KOs) Named NABA Fighter of the Year